Professional Jeweler Archive: Diversified Diamonds

March 2005

Merchandise | New Products


Diversified Diamonds

Add to a lifetime's collection of diamonds by going beyond the basics


StyleWatch

Diamond studs? Check. Solitaire necklace? Check. Line bracelet? Check. An older woman likely has a basic diamond wardrobe, if she’s at all interested in jewelry, but buying sparklers is still thrilling. To catch these customers, show diamond jewelry that’s a bit out of the ordinary. Some trends to look for:

Larger, longer pendants. Diamonds can be white or colored, either one large stone surrounded by pavé or made up of pavé on a grand scale.

Colored diamonds or gemstones make for a rich mix.

Right-hand rings are a perfect sell to this demographic.

Yellow gold with diamonds will best mix with an existing jewelry wardrobe.

Pendants are from the Louis Glick Label Collection. From left, the heart-shaped Blonde Diamond™ with surrounding pavé diamonds mounted in platinum, 3.22 carats. Emerald-cut white diamond with surrounding pavé mounted in platinum, 4.39 carats. Pear-shaped Blonde Diamond with surrounding pavé mounted in platinum, 2.12 carats.
Louis Glick & Co., New York City; (800) 774-5425, fax (212) 489-8280, www.louisglick.com.
Ring is 18k white gold with 1.62 carats of fancy colored diamonds and 0.4 carat of white diamonds. Suggested retail, $4,700.

Cherie Dori Inc., Sunrise, FL; (800) 226-8816, www.cheriedori.com.

Natural fancy light yellow and fancy pink and white diamond flower pendant/brooch in 18k white and pink gold has 12.84 carat of diamonds.

Manak Jewels Inc., San Francisco, CA; (415) 255-4768, fax (415) 255-0654, www.manakjewels.com.

Ring of 14k yellow and white gold features a 1-ct. center diamond and 30 points of diamond accents. Suggested retail, $6,000-$9,000, depending on center stone.

Frank Reubel Designs, Flagler Beach, FL; (888) 439-0272, fax (386) 439-1318.

Vintage-inspired suite includes the necklace with 1.0 carat of round diamonds, 0.09 carat of princess-cut diamonds and 0.60 carat of sapphires; the earrings have 1.28 carats of sapphires, 1.0 carat of round diamonds and 0.9 carat of princess-cut diamonds.

Kirk Kara, Los Angeles, CA; (800) 874-0181.

Omega back earrings with 0.25 carat of pavé diamonds in 14k white gold are $499.95 suggested retail; pendant with 0.15 carat of pavé diamonds in 14k white gold is $309.95.

Carla Corp., East Providence, RI; (401) 438-7070, fax (401) 438-0455.

Anniversary Wheels are 14k gold with full-cut diamonds.

Color Craft, New York City; (800) 321-5807, www.color-craft.com.

Brooch has 1.90 carats of round diamonds in 14k white gold.

Loewi’s Jewelry, New York City; (212) 719-1170, (212) 768-3142, www.loewisjewelry.com.

Omega slide has 0.19 carat of round diamonds in 14k gold. It fits up to a 6mm omega necklace or up to an 8mm fancy or reversible omega necklace.

Quality Gold, Fairfield, OH; (800) 354-9833; www.qgold.com.

Earrings with 1 carat of diamonds are $1,693 suggested retail.

Stuller Inc., Lafayette, LA; (800) 877-7777, fax (337) 981-1655, www.stuller.com, info@stuller.com.

Semimount is platinum set with 0.58 of diamonds.

Somos Creations, Nyack, NY; (845) 348-3636, fax (845) 348-1965, www.somoscreations.com.

Handmade platinum ring has a 2.01-ct. emerald-cut diamond with step-cut trapezoid side stones of 0.75 carat each.

Adasco Designs, New York City; (800) 632-6685, www.idealmatchedpairs.com.

Copyright © 2005 by Bond Communications