WJA Announces Awards for Excellence Nominees

May 10, 2005

WJA Announces Awards for Excellence Nominees

The Women's Jewelry Association announces its nominees for its Awards for Excellence 2005, to be awarded at the WJA gala dinner on July 31.

The 2005 nominees are:

Design, Fine Jewelry & Watches: Judith Ripka, designer, Judith Ripka Companies; Lisa Jenks, designer, Lisa Jenks Ltd.; Tammy Kohl, designer, Takohl Design Ltd.

Manufacturer/Dealer/Supplier for Fine Jewelry & Watches: Rachel Wertheimer, executive vice president, JewelAmerica; Elsa Martinez-Phillips, president and co-owner, Roberto Martinez; Gena Alulis, CEO and co-founder, Superfit; Marie Bodman, president, Breitling USA.

Retail (more than 15 stores): Debbie Harvey, merchandise manager, Shane Co.; Catherine Coquillard, vice president, jewelry merchandising, QVC; Nancy Skinner, senior vice president of Zale Corp. and president of Zales Outlet.

Retail (less than 15 stores): Kathy Corey, owner, Day's Jewelers; Robin Levinson, co-owner, Levinson Jewelers; Laura Stanley, Stanley Jewelers.

Sales & Marketing: Marcee Feinberg, vice president, marketing, Lazare Kaplan; Susan Rothman, co-founder & principal, Hearts On Fire; Lorraine Garvey, vice president Stahl Design USA; Carol Brodie, global director of communications, Harry Winston.

Editorial/Reporting/Publishing: Carrie Soucy, editor, JCK Luxury International; Tania Riddell, accessories editor, Modern Bride; Antoinette Maitlins, gemologist, author & lecturer.

Special Services & Education: Sue Fritz, vice president of marketing, Jewelers Mutual Insurance Co.; Dione Kenyon, president, Jewelers Board of Trade; Mary Moses, merchandising director, Independent Jewelers Organization; Nirupa Bhatt, marketing manager, Rio Tinto.

Also on tap during the evening festivities will be the awarding of the 2005 Hall of Fame Award. This year's recipient is Phyllis Bergman, president of Mercury Ring and past WJA president.

The WJA will also award William E. Boyajian, president of the Gemological Institute of America, the Ben Kaiser Award, given to men who have demonstrated a deep commitment to the advancement of women in the industry.

The Awards For Excellence gala dinner will be held at the Chelsea Piers in New York City. Tickets for the event are $250 for members; $300 for non-members. Tickets and information are available online at www.womensjewelry.org or by calling WJA headquarters at (973) 575-7190.

Sign me up for