JA Names Four New Board Members

August 14, 2006

JA Names Four New Board Members

Jewelers of America (JA) welcomed four new industry leaders to its Board of Directors at its Board of Directors meeting, held July 29 in New York City.

The new members are Frederic de Narp, president and CEO of Cartier North America; Bill Koen, president of Joe Koen & Son Jewelers; Steve Robbins chairman and CEO of Robbins Bros.; and Hank Siegel president of Hamilton Jewelers. They will serve on the 24-member board through 2009.

Each new director has exhibited a commitment to the retail jewelry industry, through participation in industry organizations, by seeking the utmost in jewelry education, and in giving back to the community at large through charity and foundation work.

Frederic de Narp's career with Cartier spans two decades. Before becoming president and CEO of Cartier North America, he served as retail manager of Cartier Switzerland and retail manager and CEO of Cartier Italy. He is also co-founder of NeedYou, a humanitarian organization created to aid abandoned children in Cambodia, Haiti, Rwanda, and Brazil.

Bill Koen, G.G., is a past president of the Texas Jewelers Association, serving on the board for eight years. His business, Joe Koen & Sons, with two locations in Austin, TX, has been family owned and operated for 123 years. Koen has a history of leadership within his local jewelry community.

Steve Robbins, along with brother Skip, refocused his father's Glendale, CA-based store and grew it into a 10-store retail chain, with stores in Southern California and Texas. In 2005, Robbins received the Excellence in Service Award from the 24 Karat Club of Southern California, for his industry achievements and his dedication to community service.

Hank Siegel, G.G., CGA, has served as president of the Jewelers Vigilance Committee and a member of the boards of the Jewelry Information Center, the Gemological Institute of Americažs International Executive Council and the JCK Show Advisory Board. His business, Hamilton Jewelers, based in Lawrenceville, NJ, has five locations in New Jersey and Florida.

In addition to the new directors, the Board appointed Ed Bridge, president of Ben Bridge Jewelers, to the Nominating Committee. Completing their terms on the board are Mary Forte, former president and CEO of Zale Corporation; and Marion Halfacre, president of Traditional Jewelers, Inc., Newport Beach, CA.

Sign me up for